Docs

Background

How misomoon compares

This page compares misomoon with other analytics tools. The facts about other products come from their own pricing pages, docs, repositories, and license files, checked on 2026-10-24. Prices, plans, and features change. Follow the links to confirm before you decide. If you find a fact that is wrong or out of date, open an issue or a pull request with the source, and we will fix it.

"Their claim" marks a statement that a vendor makes about itself, such as whether a consent banner is needed. This page is not legal advice.

Where misomoon is different

misomoon runs entirely on Cloudflare in your own account: a Worker, D1 databases, and a queue. Nothing to rent, patch, or keep running. Other self-hosted tools need a server with Docker and a database such as Postgres or ClickHouse. misomoon needs a Cloudflare account and one deploy.

Every feature is in the one free version: funnels, journeys, revenue, Core Web Vitals, email reports, and Google import. It also has a built-in MCP server, so Claude, Cursor, and other MCP clients can read your numbers directly.

The trade-off is that misomoon depends on Cloudflare. If you can't use Cloudflare, or you need a tool that runs on your own hardware, a Docker-based option fits better.

Self-hosted and open-source tools

misomoonPlausible CEUmamiMatomoPostHogRybbit
LicenseMITAGPL-3.0MITGPL-3.0MIT, except the proprietary ee/ folderAGPL-3.0
What self-hosting needsA Cloudflare accountDocker, Postgres, ClickHouse, 2 GB RAMNode.js and PostgresPHP 8.1+, MySQL or MariaDB, a web serverDocker with ClickHouse, Postgres, Kafka, Redis, MinIO; 4 vCPU and 16 GB RAMDocker, ClickHouse, 2 GB RAM
Servers to maintainNoneYesYesYesYesYes
Self-hosted edition limitsNoneNo funnels, journeys, or revenue goalsNo email reportsFunnels and Web Vitals are paid pluginsPaid features are cloud-only. Self-hosting is "officially unsupported".No email reports or Pages view
Cookieless by defaultYesYes (their claim)Yes (their claim)No. Cookies are on until you turn them off.No. Cookieless mode is opt-in.Yes (their claim)
FunnelsYes, 3 modesCloud Business planYesPaid pluginYesYes
RevenueYes, per-site currencyCloud Business planYesYesYesNot checked
Core Web VitalsYesNot in docsYesPaid pluginYesYes
Official MCP serverYes, built inNo (third-party only)YesYesYesYes
Import from GoogleYesYesNoYesManual, through BigQueryNo
First-party proxyManaged subdomain or self-run, with one-click deploysSelf-run (managed on Enterprise)Self-runSelf-runManaged on their cloudSelf-run
Tracker size, gzipped998 bytes core, 1.8 KB with the Light preset, 4.8 KB with every feature (measured)1.3 KB for script.js, 2.5 KB for the current per-site script (measured)2.3 KB (measured)28 KB (measured)106 KB (measured, full bundle)11 KB (measured)
GitHub starsNew29.6k39.6k22.0k40.4k13.2k

"Measured" means we downloaded the script with gzip on 2026-10-24. Sizes depend on the version and configuration.

Hosted tools

misomoonGoogle Analytics 4FathomSimple AnalyticsCloudflare Web Analytics
Where your data livesYour Cloudflare accountGoogleFathom (EU collection, then US)The NetherlandsCloudflare
Open sourceYes (MIT)NoNo (the old Fathom Lite is MIT and no longer developed)No (only the tracker scripts)No
PriceCloudflare's own pricing for Workers, D1, and QueuesFreeFrom $15/month for 100k pageviewsFree for 5 sites with a 1-month history; from $20/monthFree
CookiesNone_ga cookies for 2 years. Google's EU policy requires consent where the law requires it.None (their claim)None (their claim)None
FunnelsYesYesNot foundMulti-step goals on some plansNo
RevenueYesYesYesNot foundNo
Core Web VitalsYesNo built-in reportNot foundNot foundYes
Custom events and UTMYesYesYesYesNo
Official MCP serverYesYes, "Experimental"No (community only)NoA general Cloudflare GraphQL server
Data retentionYou choose, per site or for the whole server2 or 14 months for explorationsWhile you subscribeBy plan6 months, sampled after 7 days
Tracker size, gzipped998 bytes core, 1.8 KB with the Light preset, 4.8 KB with every feature (measured)157 KB (measured, gtag.js)2.1 KB (measured)3.9 KB (measured)10 KB (measured)

Tracker size, feature for feature

A new misomoon site gets every feature. The Light preset under Settings > Install > What to track keeps what Plausible's script does: pageviews with single-page app and hash routing, engaged time and scroll depth, custom events with props and revenue, outbound links, file downloads, form submissions, and tagged events.

ScriptGzipped
misomoon, core only998 bytes
misomoon, Light preset1,846 bytes
misomoon, every feature4,763 bytes
Plausible, script.js (pageviews only)1,280 bytes
Plausible, script.outbound-links.file-downloads.tagged-events.js2,069 bytes
Plausible, the per-site pa- script on plausible.io2,475 bytes

Measured on 2026-10-24 with Node's zlib.gzipSync at its default level, on the files served by plausible.io/js/ and on misomoon's build. Plausible's current per-site script turns outbound links, downloads and form submissions on and off from its dashboard, so it carries their code on every site (script extensions, page updated 2026-08-14).

Data processing agreements

A self-hosted misomoon needs no agreement with the misomoon project: the data stays in your Cloudflare account, under Cloudflare's DPA. The hosted service at app.misomoon.com has its own data processing agreement. Bracketed values in it are drafts.

app.misomoon.comPlausibleFathomSimple AnalyticsUmami CloudMatomo CloudPostHog
How you get itPart of the terms, nothing to signPart of the terms, nothing to signSign the PDF and email itNone; they review yoursPart of the terms, nothing to signAccept at sign-up or in the adminGenerate and sign it in the app
Breach noticeWithin [48] hoursWithin 48 hoursWithout undue delayNot statedWithout undue delayWithout undue delayWithout undue delay
Notice of a new sub-processor[30] days, object or leave with a refundNo day count, object and leave14 days, leaveNot stated15 days, object or leave with a refund30 days, object14 days, object or leave
AuditsReports first, then once a yearNo clauseThird-party audit resultsNot statedReports first, then once a yearCertificates, documents, and interviewsAt your cost
Deletion after you leave[30] days, backups [30] daysWithout undue delay, backups 30 daysWithin 24 hours90 days after cancellingNo day count30 days, backups 60 daysOn request
Transfers outside the EUStandard contractual clausesNot in the DPANot in the DPANot statedStandard contractual clausesAdequacy or standard contractual clausesStandard contractual clauses and the Data Privacy Framework

Checked on 2026-10-25: Plausible's DPA (updated September 2026), Fathom's DPA (2025-06-20), Simple Analytics' DPA page and terms, Umami's DPA (2026-08-02), Matomo's Cloud DPA (2025-10-09), and PostHog's DPA.

Privacy tools in the product

misomoonPlausibleFathomSimple AnalyticsUmami CloudMatomoPostHog
Retention you set per siteYes, 30 days to 10 yearsBy planKept while you subscribeBy planBy planYesBy plan
Exclude IP addressesYes, IPv4 and IPv6 rangesYesYesIPv4Pro planYesInternal users filter
Global Privacy ControlOptional, per siteNoNoNoNoNoRead in its code, off by default
Do Not TrackOptional, per siteNoOptionalOn by defaultOptionalOff by defaultOff by default
Opt-out button for visitorsYes, in the dashboardA downloadable opt-out pageA flag set from the consoleNoA flag set by the siteAn opt-out form and APIAn API
Privacy policy text for your siteWritten from your settingsGuidance onlyYesYesNoYes, a fill-in paragraphNo
Consent banner guidance by countryEU, France, Germany, UK, USGeneralEU and UKPartialPartialEU country by countryGeneral
Legitimate interest and Article 30 templatesYesNoNoNoNoArticle 30 helpNo
Delete your own accountYes, at onceYesYesYesYesAfter cancellingYes
Two-factor sign-inNoYesYesNoYesYesYes
Audit logNoNoNoNoEnterprise planYesPaid plans
SOC 2 or ISO 27001No (Cloudflare has both)NoNoUnclearNoISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2

Checked on 2026-10-25, on each vendor's own pages: Plausible's docs (opt-out, 2FA, account deletion; pages updated June to October 2026) and security page (August 2026); Fathom's docs and compliance guides (September 2026); Simple Analytics' docs and security page; Umami's docs and security page (22 October 2026); Matomo's FAQ, consent guide, and ISO 27001 announcement (24 September 2025); PostHog's privacy docs, activity logs, and trust center. Simple Analytics calls itself SOC 2 certified on one page and "in progress" on another.

Sources

Checked on 2026-10-24.

Search every page and heading. ↑ ↓ to move, enter to open.